# COATESVILLE AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT SPECIAL SCHOOL BOARD MEETING MINUTES

Coatesville Area Senior High School Auditorium FEBRUARY 5, 2018 - 7:00 PM

## **OPENING ACTIVITIES**

## 1. CALL TO ORDER AT 7:13 P.M.

## 2. PURPOSE OF MEETING

The purpose of this meeting is to fill the School Board vacancy for Region III, occasioned by the resignation of Robert M. Knecht.

## 3. READING OF MISSION STATEMENT

The Mission of the Coatesville Area School District, rich in diversity and committed to excellence, is to create innovative educational experiences which are funded by the taxpayers, supported by the community, delivered by dedicated teachers and administrators, to ensure all students will become responsible, contributing global citizens.

#### 4. ADVISEMENT

By notice of the President, Board Members are advised that all votes shall be regarded as roll call votes. The minutes should also note that public notice was given for this meeting in accordance with Act 93 of 1998, Section 1. School Board meetings shall proceed in accordance with School Board policy.

## 5. ROLL CALL

#### **Board of School Directors**

Dean A. Snyder, President - present (Finance Committee) Ann M. Wuertz, Vice President - present (Operations & Policy Committees) Robert J. Fisher - present (Education & Finance Committees) Bashera Grove - present (Education Committee) James Hills – present (Finance & Operations Committees) Thomas N. Keech - present (Education Committee) Brandon J. Rhone – present via Telecom (Policy Committee) Thomas Siedenbuehl – *present* (Policy Committee)

#### Administration

Dr. Cathy Taschner, Superintendent of Schools – present

Dr. Kimberly Donahue, Asst. to the Superintendent of Curriculum and Learning - not present

Dr. Cynthia Ajemian, Director of Special Education – not present

Jeffrey Ammerman, Business Manager – present

Karen M. Hall, Director of Human Resources and School Board Secretary – *not present* Jason Palaia, Director of Elementary and Secondary Education – *not present* 

Rita Perez, Director of Pupil Services – not present

#### **Solicitor**

Michael I. Levin, Esquire – not present

## 6. MOMENT OF SILENCE AND SALUTE TO THE FLAG

## ADDITIONS, DELETIONS OR MODIFICATIONS TO THE AGENDA

## PUBLIC COMMENT ON AGENDA ITEMS

The Board has requested all persons making comments on <u>agenda items</u> to list their name, address, telephone number and motion item(s) on the sheet provided. There is a three (3) minute limit per person. The Board does not take action or discuss items not appearing on the agenda. The Board values public comments and wishes to convey that although Board members cannot discuss items that are not on the agenda, they listen carefully and appreciate and value input from the public.

1) Frank Pryor – East Fallowfield Resident: In support of Amelia Mills for Region III.

## **AGENDA ITEMS**

## A. Region III Candidate Interviews

- 1) Robert T. Marshall, Jr. 5 Votes
- 2) Amelia Mills 3 Votes
- 3) Monica Strauser 0 Votes

## B. Roll Call Vote

A roll vote of 5-3-0 ruled in favor of Robert T. Marshall, Jr. as the new School Board Director of Region III.

- C. Announcement of the New School Board Director Region III Robert T. Marshall, Jr.
- D. Swearing-In of the New School Board Director District Magistrate Judge Gregory Hines

## **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

An executive session will be held immediately following this meeting for personnel, negotiations and legal reasons.

#### **PUBLIC COMMENT**

The Board has requested that all persons making comments of public concern to list their name, address, telephone number and topic(s) on the sheet provided. There is a three (3) minute time limit per person.

1) Kristin Gorgo: Problems @ CASD; Teachers' contract; School Board Members; Discipline @ Rainbow Elementary School; and teacher/student retention.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

Karen M. Hall, School Board Secretary

This meeting was adjourned at 8:22 p.m. on a motion by James Hills.
Respectfully submitted,
Karen Jackson, Recording Secretary

Anyone wishing to review the minutes verbatim should contact the School Board Secretary to request a copy of the digital/audio file or you may visit our website to view the video of this meeting.